Google+

Bulletstorm review

Back to Article

113 comments

  • Marcunio88 - February 23, 2011 3:27 p.m.

    Wow judging from these comments the gaming community's really lost it's creativity. "All you do is whip, kick, shoot!!!111!!". Yeah or you could actually play around and try a few new things? Also by that measure you could say all you do in COD is shoot then hide to regain your health. That sounds pretty boring when I write it like that but we all know its a lot more fun in practice. Also as far as the immature dialogue/storyline go since when did we all lose our sense of satire and sarcasm? Keep up the good work GR, clearly the best games site on the net.
  • Zepaw - February 23, 2011 2:06 p.m.

    I was considerig this. knowing you give it a 10 makes that consideration stronger.
  • JimmyCooldaddy - February 23, 2011 1:33 p.m.

    The Tony Hawk style trick system didn't appeal to me, so I went with Killzone 3. Plus the new Killzone is 3d compatible!
  • HereComesTheHypeTrainCHOOCHOO - February 23, 2011 12:47 p.m.

    "The main campaign is a tightly-constructed rollercoaster of a thing, relentless and with not a second of filler despite its fairly generous (for a modern shooter) length." Wow, you call a five and a half hour campaign (according to IGN"s reviewer) a "fairly generous length"? Sorry Dave but you totally lost me there. This review reads more like a paid advertisement than an objective review. Interesting read all the same.
  • Felixthecat - February 23, 2011 10:31 a.m.

    I'll be getting it on my birthday in about 21 days. Loved the demo (14,755, yo!) and I'm getting it over MvC3, so it BETTER be as good as it sounds overall!
  • Imthedoctor - February 23, 2011 7 a.m.

    T^T i need money..right meow
  • austinthebookworm - February 23, 2011 6:37 a.m.

    Apparently the ending is just build-up for a sequel. I don't like that.
  • ElGrinchoid - February 23, 2011 4:39 a.m.

    10? Really? Is it THAT good, and THAT far above most other shooters? Because i'll be honest, i played the demo. First run through, it seemed enjoyable. Second run through trying to change what i was doing, giving it "my own stamp" as you put it, it got pretty run of the mill shooter and i was bored of it's puerile humour by the 3rd run. Might rent it and give it a go at some point, i'd love to be surprised.
  • Syncmaster - February 23, 2011 3:44 a.m.

    I sat down, read the review and am leaving impressed. really nice review! need to play this, the demo was great
  • JD_Method - February 23, 2011 3:41 a.m.

    I don't get people saying "I played the demo and it's so repetitive! All you do is whip, kick, shoot, repeat!" Think back to what you do in the other shooters you play... You shoot enemies... And maybe take cover if it's third person...
  • Triscuitable - February 23, 2011 3:09 a.m.

    Wow, better than BlOPs? Totally saw that coming. I hated the CoD series anyways. Too many 12 year olds. Maybe when I play the multiplayer in BS (whoops), I may fight someone with skill. At least, a 12 year old with skill, not a paid-for-through-hacking tenth prestige. Har har har.
  • Riche666 - February 23, 2011 3:02 a.m.

    Wow, this article convinced me to buy the game! First time on that! Nice work GR!
  • civver - February 23, 2011 2:56 a.m.

    This review sounds very sycophantic. While I could appreciate the possible replay value and interesting gameplay, some of the things you talk about aren't as good as they actually are. Smartly written scenes? I guess just randomly sticking a vulnerable little girl in is enough to build sympathy from you. Not to mention a revelation that they've been doing not-so-innocent killings out of nowhere. And that on-rails thing looks like it has way too many things going on. It's not well-constructed, it's cluttered. But I can agree with the rest of the review, in a different tone. This probably should be on anyone's buy list.
  • DabWolf - February 23, 2011 2:43 a.m.

    NOOO!!! I just picked up the Killzone Game :(!!!!
  • Effexor - February 23, 2011 2:28 a.m.

    How is the full game compared to the demo?
  • uvebeenpwned - February 23, 2011 2:22 a.m.

    I admit, you've intrigued me. Portal is by far the best game in the world, but if this is better than that, I might have to pick it up.
  • Mar27w - February 23, 2011 2:06 a.m.

    the review pretty much confirmed what i already new,the demo was great addictive point scoring fun and felt very unique in what is now an oversaturated FPS market,some people didnt like it but thats probaly because they were crap at it or didnt know how to play it,i certaintly didnt the first couple of goes
  • RavielDeSilverlake - February 23, 2011 1:26 a.m.

    Will buy this game after I got Kz3. Well, cool story, cool stuff, cool etc and etc. A game of Epic Games that's not TPS - ok, fine. Non-versus multiplayer - still fine, too. It's about the fun, baby - check. So where's the hell is my co-op splitscreen -.- Oh well, still getting it after Kz3, though.
  • uravex - February 23, 2011 1:26 a.m.

    The game looks like a winner to me. I just may pick it up later this week. BTW not to be a twit or anything but I think you spelled "combat" as "combay" in the Black Ops paragraph.
  • StoneDreadnaught - February 23, 2011 1:21 a.m.

    First, just wanna say I'm very happy this got a 10. I was expecting a 9 outta this, for some slight flaw that couldn't be overlooked; Glad I was wrong. Second, I'm surprised there are people that are saying they don't like this game. Everyone's tastes aren't the same, I get it, but it just reminds me of the Vanquish comments of 'it's just a cover shooter'. As far as the demo goes, I had an absolute blast. I used everything I had to offer, just to see how it would kill the enemies or how they'd react to particular environment. I'm STILL playing the demo while waiting for BulletStorm: Epic Edition to arrive in a bloody and bullet-hole ridden UPS van. I just hope Duke Nukem Forever is nearly this good.

Showing 21-40 of 113 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: People Can Fly, Epic Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.