Google+

Bulletstorm hands-on preview: Is the campaign as fun as the demo?

7. Made mother very angry. Bulletstorm's scripted set pieces are larger-than-life, too, of course. As I'm exploring an underground mine early in the game, my progress is blocked by a nest of eggs. Eggs the size of hydrogen bombs. I gun my way through them, only to find myself chased by an unseen monster of a mommy who triggers an earthquake upon every step. I hijack a helicopter to escape, only to find that it's low on fuel and plummeting fast. I survive the crash, only to find myself in another fantastically exaggerated sequence several minutes later…

8. Outraced the Katamari of Doom. This time, I'm being pursued by a gigantic metal gear that broke loose from a factory and now rolls across the landscape, crushing everything – people, vehicles, entire towns – under its impossibly wide tread. I can't hope to destroy the wheel, so the best I can do is blow up fuel towers along its path, the force of which ever-so-slightly divert its angle of destruction. Much cursing, from me and from Grayson, ensues.

9. Grew to the size of Godzilla. After feeling incredibly small for so much of the game so far, Bulletstorm surprises me with an awesome role reversal. Grayson and Ishi cut through an abandoned amusement park ride in which animatronic dinosaurs amaze the tourists by stomping across meticulously miniaturized metropolises. Because (most of) the dinosaurs are out of commission, however, I'm the one stomping – I get to stroll past towering skyscrapers that are shorter than I am, I get to cross several city blocks (complete with cars the size of ants) in a single step and, once the bad guys have rushed in, I get to electrocute them against toy-scaled billboards and telephone wires.

10. Killed four men with a single sniper bullet. Equally empowering is any time I charge up for the alternate ammunition on my vast assortment of weapons. If you played the demo, you know the joy of vaporizing enemies instantly with the secondary option on your carbine, or impaling them with a rocket from your pistol. Wait until you try the sniper rifle. Even when fired normally, it's special, allowing me to steer the bullet manually into whatever limb or organ of my target I choose. When I save up for the alternate shot, though, the bullet is still under my control inside the target, allowing me to steer his body like a grotesque puppet. Into walls. Into cactus spikes. Into other enemies. And did I mention this magic bullet is explosive as well?

11. Danced. And drank some more. The amusement park isn't the only evidence that Bulletstorm's set on what used to be a resort planet. I also visited a disco. And the song "Disco Inferno" played. And I drank a bunch of old booze off dusty tables. And my vision blurred just as a group of thugs flooded the club, so I stumbled around, attempting to aim at them and earning "Intoxicated" skillshots each time I actually succeeded. And Ishi called me "an asshole." And then an Achievement popped up for killing everyone while remaining on the dance floor. And yeah.

12. Heard the infamous "dicktits" line… in context. This randomly rude insult from the demo, which was mocked and celebrated across the internet in equal measure, is also in the campaign. Along with plenty of other bizarre new slang. But the developers of Bulletstorm know how ridiculous they're being, and the game rarely takes itself too seriously. When another character angrily tells Grayson that he's a "dicktits," Grayson responds with exasperated confusion: "What does that even mean?!"

Feb 8, 2011

Bulletstorm hands-on preview: Now THIS is combat evolved
No FPS has prepared you for this. We guarantee it

 


Is Bulletstorm the new Gears?
Epic Games and Cliff Bleszinski are bringing you another ultraviolent franchise. Let's see how the two compare

 

Bulletstorm video - Full Access Preview
Chris, Charlie and Matt load up the Bulletstorm demo and FAP ‘til their nuts explode

We Recommend By ZergNet

42 comments

  • The4X - February 15, 2011 9:56 a.m.

    @ GamesRadarCharlieBarratt Ok I reconsidered. I'm just jealous.
  • Teegro - February 10, 2011 3:53 a.m.

    I found the demo very underwhelming to be frank. It felt like the humour was a bit too forced and the gameplay, while certainly OTT, reminded me of The Club with it's emphasis on points, similar speed runs and trying to kill to up a score. It felt just as that disappointment did, a good idea but ultimately shallow and unsatisfying.
  • Vyskammer - February 10, 2011 3:32 a.m.

    Oh wow. This review has gotten me really excited. I loved the demo, playing it a few times through trying to get above 4 stars. I can't remember the last time I was this excited about a game.
  • WTFBOOM - February 9, 2011 11:32 p.m.

    How long is the campaign?
  • VSorceress - February 9, 2011 11:31 p.m.

    Based on a few of my friends reaction to this game, I think that there are a few reasons why people do not like the demo: 1). They did not realize that there are two other weapons that you can get in the intital load out screen. 2). They were not creative enough in their attempts to kill people. 3). No Team Deathmatch. The 1st reason can easily be resolved. Choose the left and Right selectors on the bottom two weapons. Done. The 2nd one, I advise them to youtube videos to become "inspired" in how to kill.. if that doesn't get them interested, then well you can't expect everyone to like this style but at least you gave them ideas on how to do some really creative skill shots. The 3rd reason is pretty much dead in the water at first glance. You can stick to the monotonous military shooters that are more than widely available. I'll venture off into the innovative yet somewhat retro style that I find so refreshing in this game.
  • FNG - February 9, 2011 10:34 p.m.

    In Crysis, the fun is in killing your enemies, and in Bulletstorm, it's in the ways you kill your enemies, and that would be fine, if there were more ways to kill theme.
  • FNG - February 9, 2011 10:28 p.m.

    Each different way of killing someone is only fun the first time and there are only so many ways.
  • ObliqueZombie - February 9, 2011 8:26 p.m.

    So... did people just run around shooting the enemies, or what? You know, the point of the game is to be as creative as possible while killing even the smallest, worthless enemy. All this complaining about "the shooting not being that fun" is completely unjustified. You missed the point. The point isn't the kill quickly and effeciently (like CoD, Medal of Honor, Halo, Killzone, etc., etc., etc...), it's to kill slowly and creativly. Killing with as much pain-inducing tricks and uses of environment as possible. So really, if you ran through this playing as if it was Gears of War first-person, you've obviously missed the point. You might as well try and play Halo: Reach without using an Armor Ability.
  • ThatNorwegianPersonFromSpace - February 9, 2011 7:54 p.m.

    The only thing that could ruin this game for me is if it's 5 hours long or something, but I'll still probably buy it. Also, no multiplayer I hope (we don't need no wasted resources)
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - February 9, 2011 6:26 p.m.

    "I H8 U" :(
  • skyline19 - February 9, 2011 1:27 p.m.

    I like the look of it but with DA2 coming up I think I'll give it a miss.
  • The4X - February 9, 2011 9:44 a.m.

    "Having finished Bulletstorm last month, I can give you an idea" I H8 U.
  • humpiedumpie - February 9, 2011 8:24 a.m.

    Still not interested, but i didn't like the demo either.
  • Zeb364 - February 9, 2011 7:58 a.m.

    Damn I can't wait for this game!
  • AGENTJORRRG - February 9, 2011 7:20 a.m.

    Looks generic as hell. All I can say is Meh.
  • kidego71 - February 9, 2011 5:19 a.m.

    @FNG Wait...Bulletstorm didnt have variety but Crisis 2 did??? Are you sure we played the same demos?
  • bitchassafriBLAMamericANTISTA - February 9, 2011 3:59 a.m.

    i didn't like the shooting in the demo, and other then the grenade launcher and overcharged carbine while intoxicated i rarely fired my gun in the demo
  • KnightDehumidifier - February 9, 2011 3:45 a.m.

    HEY, YOU LOOK LIKE A REAL TOOL! Well I am a typical male between the ages of 18-35 who plays run-off-the-mill action games. He finds mundane first person shooters to be his only enjoyment in life. SO WHATCHA DOIN'? Well I'm planning on planning on spending a day leveling up my soldier by shooting at some people on some maps I spent fifteen dollars on, because it seems like the right thing. NO WAY DICKTITS, YOU'RE GONNA PLAY BULLETSTORM!
  • 8bitBaby - February 9, 2011 3:40 a.m.

    man! this game looks so over the top it has to be fun. and also, that one helicopter you were flying looks like something gyro gearloose wiped up in his wooden shack of a lab. XD
  • Fusionmix - February 9, 2011 3:23 a.m.

    @hardcore_gamer1990 That's what I was thinking, pretty much. Except if Ratchet had a threesome with Duke Nukem and TimeSplitters while Quentin Tarantino watched.

Showing 1-20 of 42 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.