Google+

Borderlands review

Great
Back to Article

79 comments

  • GamesRadarTylerWilde - October 19, 2009 10:55 p.m.

    Haha, no, you're completely entitled to your opinion. It divided the office a little too - I was more critical than most.
  • mrandydixon - October 19, 2009 11:11 p.m.

    This is completely unrelated to this review, but something I've been wondering about for a while now: Why does the thumbs down portion of the Super Review logo have to be so much bigger than the thumbs up? It stops my heart for a brief moment every time I start to read a Super Review for a game I'm looking forward to and I see that angry fucking thumb! Tyler, please re-draw the logo and make the thumbs the same size. That's your job, right?
  • superdude22 - October 19, 2009 11:26 p.m.

    YES!!!!!!!!! FALLOUT 3 CANNOT BE DEFEATED
  • lieutenantDanJR - October 19, 2009 11:58 p.m.

    alright 24th yes my life is complete yes
  • skynetiscoming - October 20, 2009 12:04 a.m.

    I understand everything Tyler says and I agree, those just don't seem like big problems to me. The game is made to be a bit of a grind after-all.
  • JohnRabbit - October 20, 2009 12:11 a.m.

    @Dakmoden - I'm not sure the point of your post; Tyler sounds like a game reviewer making obvious comparisons to similar games (Fallout, Diablo, etc). If he had been name-dropping some other game that had zero relation to Borderlands then I'd be a little dismissive of his review as well. Tyler can't tell you to buy the game or not; that's what the lump 3 feet above your ass is for. This scored higher than I anticipated on this site; I'm really anxious to hear some discussion about this game on the next TDar. Word is going 'round them innanets that the game is divisive among many website staff.
  • CountFenring - October 20, 2009 12:17 a.m.

    Great review, I'll be buying this day one. I'd like to see what what everyone else in the office had to say, but I suppose that's what the podcast is for. Again, great review.
  • JohnnyMaverik - October 20, 2009 12:33 a.m.

    Not sure I really understood the comparison to ODST, Mass Effect, L4D or even Bioshock would have made more sense, even if they would have been unfair comparisons (considering their all better than Fallout 3, yes I said it). I was psyched for this game, and now not so much, grind pisses me off and I'm all about depth, but grinding with 3 of my friends in a fps with loadz of loot... really not sure whether that'd be enjoyable or not. Still dissapointed, good gameplay is the least I expect from an FPS, story, characters and well realized settings are what I want along with the good gameplay which should be a given these days, on that respect all reviews had reported this as a faliure. Might pick this up, but I guess I'm guna have to wait for Brink for somthing along these lines thats spectacular, and that'll probably be shyte on plot, setting and characterisation aswell -_- God damn it, employ some fking writers please dev teams... you guys just suck at it.
  • ChrisAntistaSmellsLikePizza - October 20, 2009 12:33 a.m.

    I can see what Tyler is saying. I will obviously have to pick up the game to get a feel for myself, but I can say that from what all I've seen thus far of the game, I would have probably given it an 8, again, that's just from first glance. Also, I couldn't tell from the vid, is the blue bar or the red bar your health?
  • TestDDs - October 20, 2009 1:35 a.m.

    Someone call Border control this game is jumping.
  • aion7 - October 20, 2009 2:46 a.m.

    I'm biting on this. Getting the four pack on Steam with a few friends. I'm a big fan of Diablo-esque ARPGs, and of FPS, so I've got hopes for this. I just wish the skill trees were more complex and the humor didn't suck.
  • PopPopInTheAttic - October 20, 2009 3:56 a.m.

    @Those who had the chance to play, but do not own it: There is a large difference between playing it for a little bit and owning it and playing the whole thing. If you spend an hour blasting through stuff for fun at a friend's house, then go on to buy it and realize that it's 22 hours of basically that same hour, then you'll probably be disappointed. Can't really argue the finer points of a game if you haven't shared the entire experience.
  • QuantumHeadache - October 20, 2009 4:37 a.m.

    I'm looking forward to it along with Dragon Age and MW2. I'll probably rent it first though and then buy it used if I like it. Which I probably will. I'm just cautious.
  • ChristianWitzel - October 20, 2009 4:56 a.m.

    I'm picking this up in a couple of hours at a midnight premiere, SO excited about it! The review seems a little biased towards Fallout 3...What the reviewer doesn't realize is that it's NOT Fallout...duh! Can't wait to test this out on Live with my budds too!
  • HeavyTank - October 20, 2009 12:18 p.m.

    @ChristianWitzel- I agree with you...the comparing section at the end of the review should really go away if now reviewers start to comapre MMOFPS's with single-player RPG's....
  • Maxstats69 - October 20, 2009 1:47 p.m.

    Nice review. I just checked Gamefly and it's on it's way (gotta love GF, plus it has a keep it price of only $44!!) I've been so hyped over this game for the past few months that not even a negative review would stop me from wanting this. I love loot collecting RPG's in the vein of Diablo and such and who doesn't love 4 player co-op FPS's? I think it's a match made in heaven. I love Fallout 3 but I think the focus of this game being more on weapon collecting and pure action is going to be exactly the difference that is going to make this game worth having to compliment what Fallout 3 lacks. Hopefully some nice DLC down the road will keep this one running strong for a long time...
  • Maxstats69 - October 20, 2009 1:58 p.m.

    Oh yeah,and btw HeavyTank; This isn't a MMOFPS. MMO stands for "Massively Multiplayer Online". Four player co-op is not considered an MMO by any means. And how did no one else see comparisons to Fallout 3 coming? How many other FPS RPGS do you know of to compare this game to? Fallout 3 is the closest thing to Borderlands than any other game on the market. The reviewer pointed out the differences nicely and gave the reader a great idea of where both games are coming from in terms of gameplay. Nice job Tyler.
  • RabidCabbage - October 20, 2009 3:01 p.m.

    ChristianWitzel- I would suggest that the reviewer comparing the game to Fallout 3 and stating the difference between the two seems to indicate that he is aware that Borderlands is not Fallout 3. I could be wrong, of course.
  • csmirk - October 20, 2009 4:09 p.m.

    it looks alot like fallout how mny wepons can you carry at the same time
  • bonerachieved - October 20, 2009 5:24 p.m.

    im pickin this up after class!, BALLA

Showing 21-40 of 79 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 26 2009 - PC
Oct 20 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Gearbox
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.