Google+

Borderlands 2 review

Great
Back to Article

30 comments

  • joerevs300 - September 18, 2012 6:15 p.m.

    I don't get this review at all. No clear minded, truly objective individual who played through the SP part of BL1 and has even played the first 2 parts of BL2 can say those games are equal. - The graphics are light years better, starting with the SNOW impacting the screen as you're walking, lighting effects are pronounced, everything looks 10X better. - Now all the "challenges" that became meaningless once you hit level 69 reward you with "badass tokens", allowing you to level up a specific part of your character (gun damage, shield recharge, etc). In theory, you could take one of those to 100% more. How that doesn't put replay value through the roof is beyond me, and that's just 1 example. - Simple improvements (a mini map, pressing square to pick up all ammo from containers, money being automatically drawn to you vs. pressing square) go a long way to making BL2 more streamlined and focused. - Environments are simply more ALIVE. I agree with some of the OP's here about BL1 being a complete slog if you're playing solo. Vast parts of that game were just dead. BL2 (at least so far) doesn't seem like that at all. - Improved and increased dialog, NPC's you actually care about and move you, and an incredible story vs. the disjointment of BL1. And that's just scratching the surface of this game. Perhaps we've hit a point in VG reviewing where we've seen it all, and it's going to take the mother of all games to rate a 10/10. Perhaps sites like GR, etc. are scared to pigeonhole themselves by giving too many 10/10. I mean, honestly, is ANY game without a flaw that would make it 9.5/10? I would say no. In all actually...the players ultimately make the determination of what's a 10/10, as reflected through game sales (the "Madden" series being the notable exception, that game's a shoo-in to sell 3M copies no matter what).
  • ViolentLee - September 19, 2012 6:24 p.m.

    Out of curiosity, how much Borderlands 2 did you play before you wrote this? It's rare to see someone complain about a game not getting a 10. I personally thought Sterling gave a pretty succinct list of complaints. GamesRadar doesn't fall into the everything-gets-an-8 philosophy that other mags/sites sometimes embrace. I think that's a point in its favor. That said, rating this 4 out of 5 is pretty good -- good enough to warrant "Editor's Choice" status.
  • narutorasengan2 - September 27, 2012 12:55 p.m.

    This game was reviewed on an Xbox 360 so I'm not sure how the money is attracted to you thing works he didn't mention any of the features using a square because this is the "Xbox Review" not the PS3 review
  • D0CCON - September 18, 2012 6:28 p.m.

    Not a bad review. I am a little confused though. Other reviews stated that if you play a coop game where the host is further along in the story than you, you can skip whatever missions you complete in that coop session when you reach them in your game. This review says that you can only occasionally skip such missions. Which side is true?
  • Zeedar - September 18, 2012 11:28 p.m.

    My first impression: Awesome game. The first one had no real story, but this one is really cool. The little jokes that were pretty rare in the first game, are now there every step of the way (so far). I'm really enjoying myself with it.
  • ObliqueZombie - September 19, 2012 10:49 a.m.

    I love your reviews, GR, but I think this one fell flat. Not in the writing, no, but in its analysis. Pick out the little things, like how the pause menu is pretty neat, how there's no more proficiencies, and touch up a little more on the guns. I mean, hell, other than the "gray" items, no two guns look (insanely) alike. Personally, my only complaint is the floaty AI. Granted, I feel like most games have AI like this, especially one relying to heavily on a DPS-based system. Not to mention they took out the gore of the first game, meaning no more exploding head sockets and no more face-melting electric shocks. It's a bummer, for sure, but the solid gameplay and enemy variety half-way make up for the gore-loss. Or maybe my sniper simply doesn't do enough damage, who knows. Overall, I think it's better than its predecessor in nearly every way--if not every freakin' way. I wouldn't scored it higher than an 4/5, but that's just me.
  • dustinxyzaa - September 19, 2012 12:16 p.m.

    I only got the chance to play borderlands 2 for an hour or two last night and I am already thuroghly impressed with the guns. Not only by the looks but the effects as well. Yesturday I found a gun that was tossed and exploded like a grenade upon each reload. It makes me more than excited to see some of the other guns as the story progresses. Also, I love that there is now choices within your missions. I've only come across one but it feels more interactive that you are inclinced to make a decision based upon your preferences while also not having to worry about altering the story line in some significant way with the possibility of obtaining the "bad" ending.
  • skowronskim - September 20, 2012 1:56 p.m.

    Great game just as good as the first plus a better story even better when you play with friends

Showing 21-30 of 30 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 18 2012 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Gearbox
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.