Google+

Blur review

AT A GLANCE
  • Chaotic, frenzied multiplayer combat
  • Substantial single-player component
  • 20 racers on one track
  • Weapons are mostly Mario Kart rip-offs
  • Racing mechanics feel insubstantial
  • Sits in a limbo between hardcore and kart racing

Who exactly do developers Bizarre Creations see as the perfect audience for Blur? If you consider yourself a car nerd then most likely you’ll want one of the many, many games which features licensed vehicles to have at least some handling and performance similarities with their real-life counterparts.

If you’re a fan of kart games or weapon-based arcade racers then chances are you’re expecting hoverships or balloon-headed monkey drivers. Ideally, hoverships driven by balloon-headed monkeys. Blur has combined Mario Kart and Wipeout’s gameplay with Project Gotham’s eclectic taste in cars and (seeing Land Rovers racing competi-tively with rusted VW Beetles and Nissan 350Zs), and has you firing plasma balls and triggering energy waves. It leaves a peculiar taste.

Are we making too much of a snap judgement here? Are we getting all intolerant in our old age? After all, Project Gotham was hardly a simulator and Blur harks back (somewhat unfashionably) to the likes of Need for Speed: Underground and Midnight Club 2 – two titles that embraced reality only lightly. The Midnight Club series especially has long mixed real cars with power-ups and online play.

Although Blur will be primarily played as an online title, it also has a substantial single-player component. In this mode, your ultimate aim is to defeat nine rivals, whom you are allowed to compete against in one-on-one races after completing a set amount of races and meeting some of their specific objectives (such as wrecking X amount of cars or landing X number of power-ups).

Beat them and you’ll be rewarded with their special ride and a power-up ‘mod’ (such as extra Bolt ammo or a stronger shield) to use in future races. In addition to straight-up races, you’ll also get to take part in beat-the-clock Checkpoint races and a mode called Destruction where you must take down as much traffic as possible using your Bolt attack before the time runs out.

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Racing
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Bizarre Creations
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending

15 comments

  • TJP75 - July 29, 2010 3:54 a.m.

    A month on and Blur is still brilliant fun, especially in mutiplayer. One can pick Blur up for under 20 pounds, delivered now.
  • TJP75 - June 24, 2010 3:49 a.m.

    Quality single player game and awesome online mutiplayer action. Well worth picking up!
  • newjoisey - May 28, 2010 1:38 a.m.

    ill probably rent this. looks pretty cool.
  • Spybreak8 - May 26, 2010 9:39 a.m.

    That's funny as I read a review from a different site that said 20 cars all on the track at once was a bit too much. I guess it's all personal preference then. I'd pick this game if I had a good online connection but alas I do not so I went with the Split/Second game with my Amazon GC for ordering RDR.
  • lovinmyps3 - May 25, 2010 6:38 p.m.

    Still can't decide between this and Split/Second. Played both, both fun. I don't have enough $$$ for both though!
  • powerfeeling - May 25, 2010 5:24 p.m.

    Did you say Oakey's?
  • NorwegianKingOfNames - May 25, 2010 4:53 p.m.

    Did you say FREE shipping?!
  • CARDYKEV - May 25, 2010 1:46 p.m.

    Rubber band mechanics ruin racing games
  • WrathLord03 - May 25, 2010 12:05 p.m.

    Ok, so Split/Second and Blur got the same score here. I swear, if they get EXACTLY the same metacritic scores i will slaughter all of the game reviewers in as much of a kratos-esque fashion as my thin gaming arms can manage... the Blur demo still hasnt come out here, so I'll probably just get Red Dead Redemption like everyone else and get both of these for...christmas or something.
  • OnyxOblivion - May 25, 2010 11:13 a.m.

    I'll stick to Midnight Club: LA, it seems. None of the racers this month appeal to me at this point...I had such hopes for Blur.
  • Modroneman - May 25, 2010 10:36 a.m.

    I keep trying to figure out if I want to buy this game or not. An 8 is a really good score and I had high hopes for this game. Its looks great and looks fun, I guess I'm just not a race car guy. The last car racer that I enjoyed was Super Mario Kart for the Gameboy Advance, yes, I did not enjoy the DS version as much.
  • pin316 - May 25, 2010 10:21 a.m.

    Eaxis - it has already been covered, there is no rubber-banding in the game... Also, the Mario Kart comparison wouldn't really work due to the platform constraints...for me, the realy question to ask is: "If you loved Mario Kart (or kart racers in general) but don't have a Wii....should you buy Blur or Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing?" Split/Second is a different genre of game for me - a lot slower-paced and technically different. In all honesty i'd probably say it doesn't have an equivalent comparable game yet, but could most likely be compared to Burnout in the 'racer (but not kart racer) with a twist' category
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - May 25, 2010 9:51 a.m.

    Good game ...just came out at the wrong time
  • Eaxis - May 25, 2010 8:17 a.m.

    I'm curious if this has rubberband AI like some other racers. It would be nice to see Blur compared with Split/Second, Midnight Club 3, Mario Cart and conclude if Blur is better than them. I think it was a good review otherwise.

Showing 1-15 of 15 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000