Google+

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger review

AT A GLANCE
  • Feels reassuringly familiar
  • Tons of imagination
  • Clever balancing
  • Not the most technical fighter
  • May feel too familiar
  • No swanky 3D graphics

As with Guilty Gear, the control set-up looks quite basic on paper, with four attacks mapped to the face buttons, called A, B, C and D in the game, with D being used to launch the Drive specials as mentioned earlier. But it’s the combinations of buttons, how and when they are used that offer BlazBlue the kind of depth that ARC System Works’ fans have been craving. For example, holding A and B and pushing back activates a stronger-than-normal defensive shield.

Holding down A, B and C attacks activates the Rapid Cancel that enables you to cancel the animation in progress and launch a new attack. This offers the chance to mask attacks, leaving your opponent off-guard. The Rapid Cancel drains the Heat gauge, BlazBlue’s equivalent of Street Fighter’s Super meter. The Heat gauge governs all of the specials with Distortion Drive and Astral Finishers (one hit kills), adding to the move set. Learning how, when and where to use Heat moves is vital.

BlazBlue isn’t the most technical fighter - its design is to enable novices to feel good about their play – so you get one button Drive moves. This is reflected in the visuals. The animation is ace and each character and move is met with an explosion of colour and quirky flourishes. Of course, there are deeper tactics, and if you venture online you’ll get served until you discover how to use the characters. But the fact remains, the control set-up and visual impact makes BlazBlue a game for all experience levels.

With fighters and Gallery items to unlock, a progressive character-specific Story Mode (told via static dialogue scenes, but funny despite that), and lag-free online play in both ranked and just-for-kicks matches with players from around the world, BlazBlue has everything we’d want from a hi-def, 2009-vintage Guilty Gear. It’s not doing anything revolutionary, but it’s great to see that the evolution ARC System Works had put in place continues to roll on.

Jul 9, 2009

More Info

Release date: Apr 02 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Apr 02 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Zen United
Developed by: ARC System Works
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Language, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
12+

10 comments

  • kingofspades94 - July 22, 2009 3:19 p.m.

    You guys have no idea how POed i am that my 360 stopped working like a week before this came out! Huhhh... hope they make a psp game...
  • CRYPTONiC - July 13, 2009 1:55 a.m.

    idk i might get this
  • PinkLenny - July 11, 2009 4:53 a.m.

    @danomeon anyone can be first on a review dumbass
  • J-spit - July 10, 2009 5:37 p.m.

    Have it. Love it! BUY IT!!!!!
  • Ramen_Soup - July 10, 2009 4:10 a.m.

    This game is fun and the practice mode helps a lot against people online. Especially with a friend. Also why is it feeling too familiar a bad thing?
  • Danomeon - July 9, 2009 8:52 p.m.

    Finally, some developers are becoming more wise about how underexploited summer is on the market. Now I can finally have something to do in the dog days. Prototype is out there as well. and since the message taunts me, it is an unspoken rule that I must say first.
  • Corsair89 - August 10, 2009 9:12 p.m.

    @Japanjack: Jin ain't that bad. At least it's not as out of control as Ken in Street Fighter IV. Besides, if after playing against 5 goddamn Noel Vermillions in a fucking row, Jin is alright to me.
  • Japanjack - August 8, 2009 11:13 p.m.

    Also the one who wrote this is an obvious idiot. Disliking BlazBlue because it isn't 3D? Really?
  • Japanjack - July 17, 2009 10:16 p.m.

    I find that the negative details stated are irrelevant. I believe this game is a straight 10. And how is it not very technical... Compared to what? Compared to Virtua Fighter? Compared to Virtua Fighter nothing is technical. Also if you were to state one thing to take negative points on I would think it would be JIN KISARAGI!!!!!!!!!!!! God damn online... Arakune FTW!
  • zayleffein - July 10, 2009 11:51 p.m.

    This game looks pretty awesome! It's great to see a company take the limitation of even today's 3D engines away, and just have fun with a great and beautifully animated 2d fighting game. This reminds me so much of Samauri Showdown, Eternal Champions(I still love this game), and earlier MK titles excluding the GB and the motion-captured MK1.

Showing 1-10 of 10 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000