Google+

BioShock 2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • An emotionally involving story with a strong final act
  • Rapture is a more fully realized universe
  • Endlessly customizable combat
  • Chaotic and confusing multiplayer
  • Not quite as scary or surprising as the original
  • Wondering what could possibly be left for BioShock 3

Oh yeah. And multiplayer

To us, BioShock is not a series that needs multiplayer and, at first, the very idea sounded sacrilegious. Why cheapen such a carefully constructed universe by making it competitive? Why diminish the lonely, ghostly atmosphere of Rapture by dividing it into maps with 10-16 players racing back and forth? Why transform a tragic figure like the Little Sister into the object of Capture the Flag?

After playing these modes, though, we must admit that the developers have done a good job distinguishing – and separating – the online multiplayer from the offline campaign. The matches star meaningless Splicer characters instead of story icons and, more importantly, the context is altogether different. You fight during Rapture’s Civil War, a year before BioShock 1 and nine years before BioShock 2, when dozens of mutated freaks would be running all over the place, competing for weapons and plasmids. That setting not only makes sense, it reveals a brand new chapter of canon history.

Still, we doubt we’ll stick with BioShock 2’s multiplayer for more than a few weeks after release. While having a gazillion combat and strategic options during the campaign is liberating, imagine signing onto a dark and cramped map where nearly a dozen people have the same crazy amount of options. Gunfire is constant, plasmids are flying in all directions, Big Daddy suits are spawning randomly, Little Sisters are being stolen and you’re trying desperately to keep track of your health and your Eve. We found the results too chaotic. Too confusing. Others will no doubt find the madness exhilarating and addictive.

Watch the sample footage above to decide which side you think you’ll fall on, but know that the score you see below is based entirely on the single player campaign. Multiplayer is just a bonus – take it or leave it.


Is it better than…

Here is the part of the review in which we normally compare a game to three of its closest clones or competitors. With a series as unique as BioShock, however, that seems kind of silly. And with a sequel like BioShock 2, we realize only one comparison really matters. So, is it better than…

BioShock? We never, ever imagined we’d be writing this, but… yes. In some fairly significant ways, including combat diversity, enemy variety, character depth and emotional attachment to the story, BioShock 2 is superior to BioShock 1. Plus, fans’ biggest criticisms of the original – the pipe hacking and the sagging third act – have been addressed and fixed for this sequel.

But in many ways, the first BioShock can never be surpassed. Everything – the world, the philosophies, the surreal oddity – was new then, and unlike anything we’d experienced before. BioShock 2 can only hope to match that genius. Fortunately for us, it succeeds.


Just for you, Metacritic!

The weapons are better. The plasmids are better. The enemies are better. At some points, even the storytelling is better. What’s most amazing and surprising about BioShock 2, however, is that by diving deeper into Rapture’s tortured history and exploring more of Rapture’s haunted world, it actually manages to make the original BioShock better, too.

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: 2K Marin
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

55 comments

  • gilgamesh310 - April 21, 2010 12:11 p.m.

    As good as both bioshock games are, neither deserve a 10. The one glaring flaw that both of them has is the vita chambers. I understand that in bioshock 2 they serve the story some purpose but the fact that players can constantly abuse them especially when fighting big daddies and big sisters makes the game far too easy and discourages tactical play when fighting most tough battles. For me the part where two big sisters have to be defeated at once at the start of the persephone area could have ended up being a wholly satisfying experience if it had penalized me for not using the correct plasmid/gun combination in the correct sequence by forcing me to restart and rethink the situation like say a final fantasy game would. However upon dying a few times and respawning right where the big sisters were caused me to abondon any proper battle tactics and just chip away at them primitively until they were both dead, which destroys any sense of satisfaction. You could say that it's my own fault for not experimenting properly myself but I was anxious to push on with the story and the simple fact remains that if you are not penalized for doing something correctly it people are not going to change their tactics that often. There are other flaws to the game too like constantly respawning enemies. It doesn't have the suberb sense of pacing as the mighty half life 2 either which had plenty of peaks and troughs and the fact that I don't actually feel strong enough as a big Daddy but I suppose they're trivial issues compared to the main one and I do actually think that bioshock 2 is better than the original but I felt I needed to point out what so many reviewers don't take notice of.
  • Spybreak8 - February 19, 2010 12:54 a.m.

    Man I didn't want to read it but I just had to. Ok I'm stopping after page 2 since I just started playing the game and just took down the Big Sister, man what a bitch. ^^ The sequel to game of the year is no small feat and 2K did it again!
  • ken936 - February 17, 2010 9:33 a.m.

    Ah, another excellent review. Though, I've got to say That even this Bioshock is way under the scale that the first was. I was low in expetations of Bioshock 2, from knowledge that Ken Levine, who wrote, directed, and created Bioshock was missing. I'd have loved to see 'Is it better Than' comparing it to Mass Effect 2, as well. (P.S. Love the little sister scenes:)
  • downdl - February 15, 2010 4:31 p.m.

    hey .. i found this: BioShock 2 +3 Trainer: http://downdl.com/Games/bioshock-2-3-trainer.html and this Bioshock 2 Patch 1.0.0.1: http://downdl.com/Games/bioshock-2-patch-1001.html
  • HDBawllz - February 14, 2010 9:23 p.m.

    Just picked this up. Can't wait to play after work. I have to wait for 8 hours!!!! Damn!!!
  • GMAN2 - February 13, 2010 11:56 p.m.

    Btw I thought Mass Effect was better than BioShock
  • GMAN2 - February 13, 2010 11:54 p.m.

    I don't know what to think of BioShock 2. Is it a disappointment like some reviews have said or is just as awesome as the first BioShock? Maybe GamesRadar is too hyped about all the awesome games that have been coming out...or not...
  • revenge - February 13, 2010 8:25 p.m.

    @CLEIP Ok i have played both games, havent beaten mass effect 2 yet but i did beat bioshock 2. Personally i prefer BioShock 2.Sure Mass effect 2 is amazing but bioshock 2 is a masterpiece. wow thats alot of 2s.
  • CLEIP - February 13, 2010 12:43 a.m.

    Ok, big fan of bioshock, but i am also a big fan of mass effect, loved both of those games. Sadly, i will only be able to by one of the two sequels this month and i don`t know witch is better, my impression is that mass effect is slightly superior, but really i have no idea. So... I need some help. witch game is better? Please reply only if you have played both games.
  • WillisTron - February 12, 2010 11:16 p.m.

    I just beat this game like less than 2 minutes ago
  • OkayshunalUser - February 12, 2010 8:47 a.m.

    Wow... just Wow... How are you gonna give a game that freezes so much (hard lock, known in the biz) a 10/10? Does technical issues not factor into the score? Did you even get the final copy?
  • TooSpliced - February 11, 2010 10:56 p.m.

    great great great greaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat game. But on a little news article, they said its worse than the first. Well, i call fowl!
  • crimson_soulreaper305 - February 11, 2010 9:35 p.m.

    Her hype is justified. She’s a terrifying nemesis, swift and agile enough to dodge your ammo, disappearing from the screen and popping up behind you before you can reload. She’s powerful enough to absorb your plasmids and return your elemental attacks with triple the force. And she’s resourceful, pulling in Splicers (breathing or not) and using her nauseating needle arm to suck their bodies dry for regenerated health. You will dread encountering the Big Sisters (yes, plural) and the designers know it. Look out a window and you’ll often find her watching you – stalking you – through the dark water. Rescue or harvest a Little Sister and you enter yourself in a dangerous lottery. Sometimes, nothing will happen. Other times, randomly, an ear-piercing shriek that blurs your vision and shatters nearby glass will warn you that a Big Sister is coming – you’ll have several seconds to panic and prepare, but they’re rarely enough. These are some of the craziest, cruelest “oh shit” moments in the history of gaming. Holy ****, i am officially scared of the Big Sister. *looks out window* she's watching me.. Re@captcha: captives ocean; ironic, much? WE WILL BE REBORN! IN THE COLD WOMB OF THE OCEAN!!
  • boondocks50 - February 11, 2010 11:31 a.m.

    never played the first one (besides the demo) because like other games that people have told me were great, i just didnt care to try them, but yet again you guys have convinced me to try some thing new. now time to find me a copy of bioshock...
  • Yeager1122 - February 10, 2010 4:41 p.m.

    Wow this actually sounds REALLY good damn it now i want it.
  • BertTheTurtle - February 9, 2010 10:02 p.m.

    I read GameInformer's review so I was kind of skeptic since it was more negative...this is why I trust GR over GI.
  • Evernight - February 9, 2010 8:48 p.m.

    Another 10? Is 2010 going to go down as the next 2007? Personally I "liked" BS1, but the replayability of it killed it for me. There was no reason to play it again because you had all the weapons and you could buy the GOOD plasmids and max them out. So while I have a good memory of it... it will be soon forgotten.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - February 9, 2010 6:16 p.m.

    @waynski1457 No harm done. I don't understand why you're surprised by the recent number of 10s, though. We just came through the holiday season, when game publishers release their best products. It's the same with movies... the ones that are nominated for Best Picture are usually the ones released in November, December and January. Plus, many of 2009's most anticipated end-of-year games were pushed into early 2010. Such as BioShock 2.
  • MaynardJ - February 9, 2010 1:03 p.m.

    Oops, I meant: Playing Abe Lincoln Must Die! I got some loading times that appeared way too long.
  • MaynardJ - February 9, 2010 1:01 p.m.

    Damn... I still haven't played the first game as I seriously doubt if my PC can handle it right now and you can allegedly only install it twice. Playing Abe Lincoln Must Die! (first PC game I played in about a year) that appeared way too long for a game like this on my (repeatedly upgraded in the past 4 years) hardware. Can anyone tell me where I can find some good advice on getting my PC as fast as it should be (running fewer background processes, freeing up disk space, buying a larger hard drive for all I care?). After a drastic format procedure at the PC shop at the end of 2008, I was able to play Assassin's Creed. If I try it now, it gets so slow it's unplayable. And no, I'm not gonna play it on 360. FPS should be played on PC, period. King Kong was a nice shooter I just finished on Gamecube, but I often hit stuff when the aiming reticle was clearly inches off target.

Showing 1-20 of 55 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000