Google+

Battlefield Bad Company 2 review

Excellent

Appropriately enough Bad Company 2 begins by kicking the doors in and unloading a shotgun blast of thrills in your face. Following a brief, straightforward prologue you’re pitched into the snowy wastes of Alaska (not to mention 24-style intrigue) as the Bad Company boys stumble across a Russian plot involving a terrifying experimental weapon. Given that almost every gun you can pick up here doubles as a grenade launcher, that’s quite a threat.

 

Far from unbalancing the combat, the grenade launchers add an extra layer of strategy. For instance, if enemies are taking pot shots from behind cover you can literally blow that cover away. If you know a sniper is lurking on the upper floors of a building just take out the wall - or better yet the entire building. It’s an immensely confident opening and one made all the more exciting because the very same destructive tactics work equally well when used against you.

 

The result is a singleplayer campaign that at its best really challenges you to use your intellect as well as your trigger finger. It’s a system that works best in urban environments - later forays into South America quickly descend into the linear and restrictive territory of less inventive shooters. It also becomes clear that despite being part of a team you’re the only member of the squad using his brain. Your teammates are efficient but by-the-book, and often you’ll have to tow the line in order to trigger events and coax baddies to appear.

 

In short: Bad Company 2’s singleplayer mode struggles to maintain a balance between scripted events and a sense of freedom. The result is an inconsistent campaign that mixes moments of brilliance with long stretches of the merely competent.

Thank goodness then for the incredible multiplayer mode. In common with the single-player campaign, this isn’t a game in which you can switch off and let your shooting skills mop up. Once again it’s possible to destroy almost anything but you’ll also need to decide which class to use. This decision is likely to be easy enough as it’ll reflect the way you play. But it’ll also influence the dynamics of your team in the squad-based modes which, for our money, are the main draw here.



For instance, lone wolves may choose to play recon and pick off aggressors from a distance. More gung-ho players can play assault and lead the charge, whilst medics and engineers can play an invaluable support role, resurrecting fallen comrades and keeping vehicles in tip top condition as required.

Brilliantly, these abilities can be swapped out on the fly by dispatching a player of a different class. For competent players it’s easy to imagine exploring all four disciplines during a single match.

For example, we started out cowering in windows taking pot shots at passing soldiers. We ended the game buzzing about the environment on a quad bike blowing up enemy tanks with some well-placed C4. From target practice to fully-fledged badass in mere hours? That’s progress.



As the above tale suggests Bad Company 2 is an extremely accessible online experience, too. Even newcomers to the thrills of multiplayer warfare will find their determination quickly rewarded. The presence of better players forces you to constantly rethink your approach, and the ability to blow away cover means that you’re never unfairly at the mercy of a too hot-to-hit sniper.

 
Furthermore, prolonged play unlocks new weapons, gadgets and abilities - much like Modern Warfare 2’s perks system. This versatility, scope for strategy and sheer accessibility raises Bad Company 2 above most other multiplayer games.

 

But for any online enthusiasts looking for a more tactically rich and squad-focused 360 shooter than Modern Warfare 2, this really hits the target and you’ll need this in your collection.

March 2, 2010

More Info

Release date: Dec 16 2010 - iPhone, iPad
Mar 02 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Dec 16 2010 - iPhone, iPad
Mar 05 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: DICE
Franchise: Battlefield
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

We Recommend By ZergNet

24 comments

  • hazabi - March 2, 2010 5:55 p.m.

    sure gonna buy this game
  • fanboyhunter - March 2, 2010 7:45 p.m.

    Thank god there's a kick ass new multiplayer shooter. I am sick to my stomach of MW2.
  • Pocotron - March 2, 2010 8:42 p.m.

    They didn't even use a Gamesradar staff member! For shame, for shame indeed.
  • R-Ape - March 2, 2010 8:57 p.m.

    i cant wait to get to a store to pick this up!
  • Forsakenday - March 2, 2010 9:27 p.m.

    If they named this game Call of Duty: Bad Company 2, GR would have given it a 10
  • michaelmcc827 - March 2, 2010 10:11 p.m.

    wtf? No super review? sigh...
  • crimson_soulreaper305 - March 2, 2010 10:43 p.m.

    finally, i can stop playing MW2. @Recaptcha: marcella proposed: oh yes, marcella! I DO!
  • nik41507 - March 3, 2010 1:34 a.m.

    wait so in this game a bad story is a bad thing, but MW 2's story doesent matter? and why no super review? or 10?
  • D0CCON - March 3, 2010 2:04 a.m.

    Good to see that the beta holds true in the final copy. Although my teammates were rarely smart enough to NOT move in front of a sniper in a building, I in all of my engineer glory blew a hole in those freaking buildings, taking the snipers out with them. Flanking, hiding, setting traps, it's amazing what one can pull off in multiplayer. It's not like COD where your enemy will be dead or long gone by the time it takes you to flank them. Looking forward to those COD references (already have seen references to heartbeat sensors, snowmobiles, and Javelins taking out helicopters you're riding in)
  • Tochy - March 3, 2010 2:34 a.m.

    *sigh*
  • D0CCON - March 3, 2010 3:04 a.m.

    to be honest, I still like COD more, but tactical options in COD are much less limited. A challenger approaches.
  • keaton121 - March 3, 2010 4:56 p.m.

    MW2 can lick my testes. good work DICE.
  • keaton121 - March 3, 2010 4:58 p.m.

    bioshock 2 got a super review and this didn't? bioshock 2 sucked.
  • OnyxOblivion - March 4, 2010 12:06 p.m.

    Good. Short, sweet, and to the point. Not much to say beyond "Buy this game!".
  • CreeplyTuna - March 4, 2010 3:03 p.m.

    sooo much better than cod, so why a 9
  • REZNIK - March 6, 2010 5:27 p.m.

    I love this game. The online in Battlefield Bad Company was alright, but the online in 2 is just so much better. This game deserves a 9 or 10.
  • tonydelgado - March 9, 2010 4:47 a.m.

    i still dont know if i should get thiis game
  • bschroth - March 10, 2010 4:49 p.m.

    Nothing against this writer or his review, but I come to gamesradar to read reviews by the gamesradar staff. Yes, from the same idiot who are on talkradar every fucking week. I understand getting freelance to do reviews for smallers games or when there are too many too cover, but battlefield is a pretty significant series that deserves their full attention. I would've loved a super review for this game.
  • AliasAce - March 15, 2010 3:21 a.m.

    BFBC2 is BY FAR, THE BEST ONLINE SHOOTER...EVER! MW has seen it's last days up against these "DICE" guys! They really "tore down the roof" with this one!! Single campaign mode isn't bad at all unless you are the one to critique every detail to what you think a shooter should have. BOTTOM LINE: BAD COMPANY 2 STUMPS ALL OVER THE "TWITCH-SHOOTER" MW2. HANDS FUCKIN' DOWN MAN I TELL YA!! REAL WORLD GUNS, ATTACK HELI'S, RPG ATTACKS AND BOMBARDMENTS,BLOOD SOAKED BOOTS AND HARD HATS, SHOOTING PARACHUTERS, BOAT CLIQUES, MASSIVE TANK CARNAGE, BALLS TO-THE WALL ASSAULTS...WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT??...COME GET SOME! GAMERTAG:Scarfacebaby. mw2...sucks to be you right now Mr. Glitchy A.DD.-Ghettofied fried chicken contoller-havin' man hussies! PLAY A MAN'S GAME!!!.... BATTLEFIELD...WHERE YOU LEAVE IT ALL ON THE FIELD...REAL WAR...NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEARTS SISSIES. TRY TO RUN OUT IN THE OPEN ALL TRIGGER-HAPPY LIKE MW2. THERE WILL BE A TANK TURRET WAITING TO CANNON-DRIVE YOUR BODY INTO SHRAPNEL HELL! GLITCH THAT U ASSWIMPED-CAMPERS. YOU CAN TRY UNTIL A CORNER OF THE HOUSE OR BUILDNG GETS HIT BY AN RPG. YOU WILL BECOME PART OF THAT RUBBLE. CMON' YOU MW2 FAGGOTS...COME PLAY BAD COMPANY 2 AND SEE HOW SOFT AND JELLYBACK U PUSSIES REALLY ARE. This ain't your arcade shooter like mw2...this is YOUR HEAD COMING OFF UR SHOULDERS OVER AND OVER and over and over and over ver vever ve ver rr r r r YOU SUBURBAND-CRY-TO-MOMMY-AND-DADDY FOR A HOT GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH. BETTER YET... MAC-N-CHEESE WITH A SIDE OF HOG MAWS YOU SISSY-COLONIC- MOUTHED-APE-FACED-DUUKEY-THROAT-HOT SHIT STAIN WANNA BE SOLDIERS!! COME GET SOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WWWWHHHOOOOAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • AliasAce - March 15, 2010 3:25 a.m.

    IM FUCKIN' PUMPED MAN!! BRING it!!

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.