Google+

Battlefield 3 review

Back to Article

140 comments

  • mothbanquet - October 28, 2011 11:09 p.m.

    I'm a Battlefield fan through and through and I have to say, you really hit the nail on the head, Dave. I have the 360 version and I've been playing pretty much since the games UK release yesterday and the SP Campaign is not only dry and unimaginative, it's unstable as hell. It has crashed on no less than four occasions. It shamelessly rips everything it can from CoD, which is tragic because it could have done so much more. The Co-op is fun but without checkpoints, the trial and error nature of some of the later missions becomes incredibly tedious. Thank God the multiplayer is up to snuff because your score is basically 7 points for that alone. Still, good luck to anyone trying to find a server that can fit an entire XBL party on the same team...
  • roryking1981 - October 28, 2011 10:14 p.m.

    For all the people crying, get over it. The single player and co-op do count. They're on the disc and should be part of the review. Im suprised it scored this high. Yes the multi is great, but 2 out of three modes stink. Also, a problem I have is the lack of bots for offline. 1942 and battlefield 2 had them. I'd have taken bots over the campaign anyday. Overal all I'd give the whole package a 7, and consider his score rather high.
  • rapmasterRH - October 28, 2011 9:50 p.m.

    I can see a lot of angry BF fan boys raging quite a bit over this. That aside nice review. Probably buy this for the PC from the sounds of things. I mean I'd prefer to play it on my 360 but I probably wont be able to play it because of that install requirement.
  • talleyXIV - October 28, 2011 9:37 p.m.

    Two of your "You'll Hates" Xbox problems. Seriously this is not a multi-platform review? I'd go 9/10 on Multiplayer at this point, the squad system isn't working too well but patches will make it a 10. I haven't played campaign because my friends have told me that it is terrible, and I also haven't tried co-op. However if the multiplayer was running at 100%, no connection problems it would be a 15/10.
  • whitekraken - October 28, 2011 9:28 p.m.

    Does anyone think PC and Console should have gotten different reviews? They're practically different games.
  • Limbo - October 28, 2011 8:28 p.m.

    Mostly what I was expecting. I think I'm going to get MW3 over this, I hear that BF3's not very good on consoles, which is what I'd want it on. That and the fact that I own a 20gb Xbox, and I don't have room for that install. Great review, by the way. Very well written. Seems like it's Halo Reach all over again, though.
  • R-ape - October 28, 2011 7:55 p.m.

    I have a cameo in the SP. That's the only saving grace of this game.
  • kingsmikefan - October 28, 2011 8:16 p.m.

    Was that the level where your character gets ruthlessly sodomized by a monkey? Anyway, great review. Everything anybody would want to know, I think. I'm starting to really like this guy.
  • Nefurnest - October 30, 2011 6:37 a.m.

    Wait what?
  • Method Dank - October 28, 2011 7:54 p.m.

    two things. you did a good job giving the game an eight since the campaign is basically ruined for some game owners but it has amazing multiplayer. and i realize that different writers do different reviews, but how is bf3 better than black ops if black ops scored a 9 ehh?
  • kingsmikefan - October 28, 2011 8:17 p.m.

    He didn't review Black Ops. Nathan Irvine did.
  • Method Dank - October 29, 2011 12:15 a.m.

    which is why i pointed out that i realize that different people do different reviews. It was just some constructive criticizm. All love no hate!!!
  • Russianred90 - October 28, 2011 7:41 p.m.

    I completely agree with the review. I played the first few missions of single player and had an overall "meh" feel but oh my god the multiplayer. The multiplayer is honestly the most fun I've ever had in an online shoote
  • secher_nbiw - October 28, 2011 7:40 p.m.

    An 8 is too high, and I can't believe that people think that's too LOW. I have never been more disappointed in a game; in no way is this game better than BFBC2. I lost a ton of respect for this website with this review.
  • Method Dank - October 29, 2011 12:17 a.m.

    I agree i dont see how a game that has such a terrible campaign and so many errors in it that it could be virually unplayable for some users, be allowed an 8 just because of the friggin multiplayer. so to the millions out there who dont have xbox live or psn... Do not get this friggin game!!!
  • Fenderstat - October 28, 2011 6:15 p.m.

    Wow Houghto, you have just become the new Mikel Reparez, forever heckled wherever he goes for giving an A-List game an 8 (which is still an awesome score) fanboys from now and ever will be sending you hate mail/anthrax letters and or bombs and Metacritic will drive over to your house and kick your bins over on collection night so unless you get up really early and repack it the garbage men won't collect your garbage,
  • Fenderstat - October 28, 2011 6:18 p.m.

    PS. that leaves you with more garbage that you won't be able to fit in the bin by next collection day. Then your neighbours will ring the council on you complaining about the mess and the ranger will come over and tell you to shift your rubbish so you'll have to pay the $40.00 to dump it at the tip.
  • TURbo - October 28, 2011 6:11 p.m.

    Not everyone has internet. Single player is guaranteed, multiplayer is not. Unless you can play with bots.
  • CaptCOMMANDO - October 28, 2011 6:10 p.m.

    I really don't think the campaign should weigh it down by 2 points. A 9 sounds acceptable given all the praise you wrote for its multilayer. I honestly thought, before I reached the end of the article,that it would be a 9.I was shocked.
  • mothbanquet - October 28, 2011 11:14 p.m.

    The campaign doesn't so much as weigh down the score, rather it doesn't elevate it. If they'd have gone with open maps with changing objectives like Bad Company instead of CoD-style shooting galleries (which I'm not knocking, it works very well for that series) then it could have salvaged a point. As it stands, it just looks like a blatant attempt to wean people away from it's rival brand - or am I just being cynical?

Showing 41-60 of 140 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: DICE
Franchise: Battlefield
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.