Google+

Assassin's Creed review

AT A GLANCE
  • Huge, immersive world
  • Absolutely stunning visuals
  • Addictively twisty storyline
  • Repetitive side missions
  • Revisiting Masyaf over and over gets old
  • Guards are almost as agile as Altair

With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end. It's bogged down by a lot of monotonous repetition and a fighting system that's sure to frustrate hack-and-slash fans, but neither of those things really diminished our enjoyment of the game, and both were far outweighed by the thrill of tearing around its enormous cities and carefully planning spectacular assassinations. It might not be for everyone, but playing through Assassin's Creed still stands as one of the most outstanding gaming experiences of 2007.

More Info

Release date: Apr 08 2008 - PC
Nov 13 2007 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence

24 comments

  • Metalocalypse - December 6, 2012 6:40 a.m.

    Great game. I'm new to AC never thought much of it before. But after playing brotherhood i was hooked.
  • jimzhang - September 10, 2012 1:50 a.m.

    wow,it looks so cool.<a href="http://tshirtsky.com/">Assassin's Creed</a>,I like it~~
  • danny-stuivenberg - May 9, 2012 10:03 p.m.

    Assassin's Creed is amazing. Love the atmosphere.
  • altair11 - September 24, 2009 12:30 p.m.

    i kiinda like it i cant wait till the second 1 comes out u get 2 hidden blades a small gun and u get 2 use poison aint that cool???
  • Redeater - September 24, 2009 12:26 p.m.

    Man this game deserved an 8 at the highest. Yeah its fun for the first bit but you do the exact SAME thing over and over again. Plus there is no strategy for killing the head people. They give you hints about different ways but i was able to just run up to every one and fight them then run.....this game is not even close to bioshock's level of quality
  • Vivapwnata - December 7, 2008 8:40 p.m.

    Ok, ok yes we all know it was a little repetative, lolz, not that i'm arguing against the fact that this game kicks owns, but i am also wondering when they will come out with two. The FAQ's by UBISOFT said it is part of a trilogy. Also, I am huge splinter cell fan. Conviction has taken sooo long to come out...
  • merlin - October 31, 2008 3:15 p.m.

    not really sure...can be a bit repitive,but the graphix are great.and the free running scenes are breathtaking.I wonder if they will make an assassins creed 2?
  • celticassassin80 - October 19, 2008 3:30 p.m.

    i agree, it was a great game, but very repetitive. graphics were amazing, as well as gameplay. the ending left me a little wanting and hopefully the sequel will tie up some of the loose ends. I can imagine that this is how splintercell: conviction's gameplay will be like.
  • Coolbeans69 - September 17, 2008 4:23 a.m.

    I don't know... this game was great, but a little too 2 repetetive
  • GRwarrior - September 5, 2009 9:29 p.m.

    @ricochet: Oh thatnk god, if you hadn't said just kidding, I would have had to kill you ;)
  • FluffyDestructo - August 25, 2009 9:02 p.m.

    This game was incredible it deserves a ten. It was pretty repetitive but the gameplay adn the fact that most of the time the assassinations got harder and harder ave the game a challenge and made it a lot of fun. i did hate the investigation things taht you had to do before every assassination though. they were just soooo boring. I got it a couple years ago and i still play it a little btu it get's pretty boring after you beat it the first time. I'm really looking forward to Assassins creed 2 :D.
  • mcmagnum - June 2, 2009 8:11 a.m.

    this is definitly a game i would never get rid of in my collection.. its like gta and batman mixed into one i didnt think the gameplay was too repititive just by the fact the missions were fairly similiar but there bunches of side quest that can keep ya busy and going on killing sprees or taking on 5 or so guards at once is pretty fun game by itself
  • Dualcarrot - April 15, 2009 1:48 a.m.

    personally, i HATE assassins creed. i find the whole game pointless, boring, and just plane dull. assassins creed is a total waste of money, DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!! if youre looking to by a kick butt 360 game, get call of duty 4: modern warfare. thats where the fun is.
  • calipber - April 13, 2009 9:39 p.m.

    Besides the point of doing the same things over and over again in the game, it was extremely fun to play. The story line, the game play, the graphics, all were awesome! I hope to see the book and or the movie to come soon, if they dont i will have to write my own. i give this game a 9/10
  • Ricochet3435 - July 29, 2009 12:17 a.m.

    This game is so TERRIBLE! I was gonna go buy it but i decaded to rent it instead. Im glad i did cause I wouldve benn REALLY mad if I had spent 30 bucks on it! Sure the first couple of times you play it your like this game is pretty cool, but after a while it just gets old. This game doesnt deserve a ten! It deserves a one! Maybe! Hahahahah! Just kidding. Great game. LOVED it.
  • Harmon20 - July 28, 2009 7:54 p.m.

    I actually never got bored with the repetitiveness. You just need a little imagination. Every pickpocket or interrogation is a little different, but you can also play it out completely differently? Do you charge right in and beat the crap out of the guy right away, or stalk him like a tiger and wait for the opportune moment? Doing things differently like that made them not-so repetitive for me. And each hit you made was entirely different and you could have many different strategies for them. Like Nuts and Bolts, finishing the task is up to the ideas of the player!
  • GameCraze - May 26, 2009 1:58 a.m.

    lol game is amazing... i agree with the review 100%... only thing though, when you run out of Syncronization Towers, and they don't show any investigation missions on the map, it's pretty lame, cause you have to spend hours just to find an investigation... good thing is it only happens once or twice in the game.. so i wud still give it a decent 9.7/10 -GameCraze
  • Orionthefirst - April 19, 2009 2:51 p.m.

    Woo! Assassin's Creed II was previewed a few days ago by GI! Apparently the sequel has no repeating missions, and the main character can swim! I CANNOT wait for winter!
  • Furce - April 12, 2009 2:11 a.m.

    How would you know rebel? Lolz.
  • rebel748 - March 1, 2009 6:17 p.m.

    You ever tried to swim in Assasin's robes?But seriously,gaming characters never learn how to swim until the sequel.weird,huh?

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000