Google+

Aliens vs Predator review

AT A GLANCE
  • Looks and sounds authentic (mostly)
  • Shocking gore
  • Multiplayer will last
  • Single-player is short
  • Somewhat bland level design
  • Confusing Alien and Predator controls

Elsewhere, the straightforward three-way deathmatch is pretty finely balanced. Both Aliens and Predators can perform their unblockable trophy kills by moving behind enemies and hitting the button prompt. Once locked into the gruesome animation, the attacker is then at his most vulnerable, creating the potential for a ridiculous conga line of trophy killers, or for one intelligent player to hold back and toss a few grenades or plasma cannon rounds into the fray. Marines lack the ability to tear bones right out of another player’s body, and instead rely on countering melee attacks, which gives them more than enough time to pile a few shotgun rounds into their stumbled victim.

The multiplayer modes are fast paced – which makes sense, as more people are being stabbed and speared than shot – but it remains faithful to the fiction. Few concessions are made in porting abilities from the single-player campaign to multiplayer – admirably, you’ll be cloaking and leaping from shadows as a Predator, dropping from the ceiling as an alien, and running away from moving objects as a marine.

The constant exchange of what are essentially backstabs doesn’t grate either, instead the experience is closer to playing on an instagib server – that is, you’ll kill, die and respawn with enough regularity that you’ll place little value in your continuing existence, scoffing nervously at death as it buzzes by you over and over again.

Aliens vs Predator is a brilliantly authentic and cinematic experience, tinged with a vague sense that more could’ve been done with the single-player to properly spear our eyeballs into attention. It’s savage, dark, and ultra violent, but holding it back from a higher score are Alien and Predator campaigns that end too soon and don’t reach a satisfying conclusion. Does it compare well to the rest of the series? Yes, of course it does, at times it tears the throat out of the previous two games and dances on their acid-speckled, increasingly decrepit corpses. But will it make as big an impact? No. It’s old-school, a shooter from a decade past, and with that comes all the baggage you’d expect: often startling linearity, irrelevant plot, and scenes two steps away from the Modern Warfare-style blockbuster set pieces to which we’re fast becoming accustomed.

We’d argue that we wouldn’t want it any other way when it comes to Aliens vs Predator. It’s deliriously gory, unwaveringly confident and spectacular fun. And, at the very least, it’s far better than the dogshit films.

Feb 16, 2010

More Info

Release date: Feb 16 2010 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Feb 19 2010 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Rebellion
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes
PEGI Rating:
18+

17 comments

  • danny-stuivenberg - May 9, 2012 9:55 p.m.

    Deliciously bloody. ;-)
  • AlexMercer1337 - February 28, 2010 3:22 a.m.

    Did you see the 1UP review? They should be arrested. 2.5...
  • TestDDs - February 22, 2010 2:46 a.m.

    IGN is gay, they gave this game a 7! Gamesradar as the balls to say "this is a good game." I have this game and it feels more of an 8.5. IGN is runned by a bunch of transsexuals that had to much brain damage from fucking themselves in the ass by there own reviews. What i'm tring to say is Gamesradr is an 8. And IGN is the F-ing 7.
  • danny-stuivenberg - May 9, 2012 9:57 p.m.

    'Xcuse me? A game receiving 7 is overall a good game. Gamesradar is one of the few sites to still give games fair ratings though. Most sites give 9s and 10s way too quickly.
  • idlemindkiller - February 21, 2010 9:26 p.m.

    Now I don't know what to think of this game. So many other sites and mags say this game blows hard. I played the demo and came away unimpressed, but I don't know how close that translates into the retail game. If any other GR staff would like to throw in their two cents it would be greatly appreciated. Ive loved both franchises since I was a kid way back in the 80's. Too bad Hollywood blew it with the Vs films. Thanks in advance.
  • GwaR - February 18, 2010 10:33 p.m.

    I wanted to take a moment to thank GR for actually reviewing the game in its entirety. Most of the review sites out there (Game Spy, Game Informer, Gamespot, etc.) seem to focus in on the Single Player campaign and completely ignore the most important aspect of the game, the multiplayer. Just wanted to throw out a quick kudos to GR for actually playing the WHOLE game before posting a review.
  • The_Tingler - February 18, 2010 2:55 p.m.

    True guys, but when I wrote that comment it was ONLY in the 360/PS3 section and not in the PC bit at all! I see that it's corrected now. Good.
  • jackthemenace - February 18, 2010 10:45 a.m.

    must. Buy. NOW. i really want the play.com version with teh awesome looking skins :D i love GR, they always release their reviews just in time for the UK to still pre-order
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - February 18, 2010 12:43 a.m.

    I played through the entire game on 360 and compared my experience to this writer's and found it to be the same. We always check different platforms against each other, as we are very aware that console and PC versions can be very different. In this case, they are not.
  • farsided - February 17, 2010 9:50 p.m.

    great review...much better than the whiny IGN one (seriously, it sounded like the guy played on multiplayer match as an alien, got his ass handed to him, and rage-quit) I'd give this game an 8.5: worthy of a buy if you can afford it...and rent it for a fun night with a couple of friends if you can't.
  • jar-head - February 17, 2010 8:40 p.m.

    Mr. Tingles, i Highly doubt the PS3/Xbox/Pc version of this game are Any different, besides the never ending battle of graphics. Why would a Reviewer piss his time to review(and purchase0 the same game, to only find the Smallest of details? Great review, you've purchased another winner GR!
  • oryandymackie - February 17, 2010 7:32 p.m.

    This sounds like a great game. It may be linear, but stalking terrified Marines as they quiver with their puny assault rifles sounds like a whole lot of fun. Unfortunately, I don't have Live and I'm not keen on multiplayer anyway so this is going to have to be a cheap pick-up.
  • The_Tingler - February 17, 2010 3:14 p.m.

    Um, guys? This is a PC review. It clearly says "PC Zone" at the top. What's it doing in the PS3/360 reviews section?
  • AlexMercer1337 - February 17, 2010 6:56 a.m.

    Wow, you guys are hard- ass. All the other sites are complaining about the "buggy" control system and such.
  • Yeager1122 - February 17, 2010 3:23 a.m.

    I might get this when the price drops theres to many other games i have to get before this but it sounds awsome online sounds really fun and diffrent.
  • rockzombie - February 17, 2010 2:14 a.m.

    This game is pretty good. I have played all three campaigns, and they are all different experiences. I would say the only downside right now is that not may people are online yet. If you are a fan of Aliens or Predator than you should definently get this game. GR's review is good, but I think some of the lower reviews from other sites are a little bias.
  • Metroidhunter32 - February 17, 2010 1:31 a.m.

    I. Want. This. Game. But I don't have a PS3 or and Xbox, and my computer lacks the power to run it. I must come up with something to let me get it.

Showing 1-17 of 17 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000