Google+

3D Dot Game Heroes super review

AT A GLANCE
  • Perfectly emulates classic gameplay
  • Full of funny in-jokes
  • Delivers on its promise of old school fun
  • Lots of jokes will go over the heads of younger gamers
  • Some bits are just outdated, instead of nostalgic
  • Suffering from retro-fatigue when finished

Building on the foundation

Why play 3D Dot Game Heroes instead of warming up your NES or downloading the original Zelda on Wii’s virtual console? First of all, despite the 8-bit look of the graphics, there’s real, visible effort that went into to making the world and people in Dotina. It’s pretty funny to see the developer, From Software, using the power of the PS3 to make what’s essentially an NES game, while Nintendo pushes the underpowered Wii with all its might just to have the newest Zelda games keep up with current-gen productions.


Above: When you look this close you can see all the work on display

Also, don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the gameplay; as familiar as it is, it brings a lot of welcome additions. In case you don’t recall, the original Zelda wasn’t very clear on what you needed to do and where you needed to go. That opaqueness was part of the fun and is quaint now, but thankfully, 3D Dot takes it a little easier on players of today. There’s a much clearer map, and the NPCs give much better directions, as they aren’t hampered by message-size limits and shoddy translations. Plus, very early on, you have access to a warping item that can easily move you from town to town and cuts down on what would otherwise be a lot of boring backtracking.
 
There’s also a great leveling system for your primary weapon, a ginormous extending sword. The blacksmith can increase its damage, length and width (among other things) for a fee. But you’ll find a lot of other swords later on, and each one has only so much potential for growth, so be careful not to spend all your money on your starter sword. The only real problem with the sword leveling is that the power-ups are only available when you’re at full health; take even half an apple of damage (apples replace hearts in 3D Dot) and your sword is back to normal size. The difference that makes is huge, especially in later dungeons where health-replenishing drops are infrequent, and oftentimes, if we took damage real early in a monster pit, it was faster to just commit suicide and start over with full health rather than waste potions or keep going with our weakened sword.


Above: Girth and length - a dangerous combo
 
Even with all these changes, 3D Dot can get nearly as unforgiving as the classic it’s based on. Die in a dungeon, and you go back to its beginning, though at least you get to keep the progress you made before death. And woe be to those who don’t stock up on healing  potions before diving in; if you run out, you’re left with the tough decision of either toughing out the dungeon with a powered-down sword or warping to the nearest town, buying potions and walking all the way back to the dungeon.


Playing to the crowd

That’s perhaps the biggest difference between this and the original Zelda: 3D Dot Game Heroes is pretty self-aware, and knows what audience it’s directed at. The game is filled with winks, nods and references to classic NES games aside from Zelda. We could fill a whole feature listing them (now there’s an idea), but let’s just say that the Dragon Quest/Warrior references alone in this game were everywhere, and always got a chuckle from the DQ-fanboy reviewer.


Above: Could you tell this was the Dragon Warrior box art? Congrats, you're nerdy enough to play this game

There are tons of jokes scattered around, both visually and through dialogue, and these come so fast and frequently that if you miss one, another will be coming soon enough. And fortunately, the localization team for publisher Atlus knows their stuff when it comes to classic lines from NES titles of yore. Whether it’s “a secret to everyone,” or “dangerous to go alone,” lots of care was taken on our side of the pacific to translate the retro flavor for the US player.

But just like the rest of the game, what you get out of these references is determined by how much love you feel for classic games. If you’re a huge NES fanboy and know the path through the Lost Woods like the back of your hand, then this game is perfect for you. Conversely, if you have no nostalgia or respect for old games, all the clever jokes will be lost on you, and 3D Dot will only come off as a kind-of-fun game that is needlessly archaic.

More Info

Release date: May 11 2010 - PS3 (US)
May 14 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Atlus
Developed by: From Software
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Mild Cartoon Violence
PEGI Rating:
7+

37 comments

  • squidhead442 - May 14, 2010 3:24 a.m.

    Forgive me if it was mentioned, but about how long was the story? Also, can't you customize things in the game? I was wondering how deep that is. Thanks!
  • CreeplyTuna - April 25, 2010 2:29 p.m.

    i want this sooooo bad bt just got infamous and god of war collection and got to beat them before red dead comes out! argh!!!
  • MaverickHunterAsh - April 21, 2010 6:30 p.m.

    I have long been excited for this and still am. Of course, I'm 25, so I grew up with and have endless love for old-school gaming and am thus the precise target demographic for 3D Dot. I'm glad I can appreciate a brilliant contemporary experience like Final Fantasy XIII and anticipate a retro love-letter like 3D Dot in equal measure. Can't friggin' wait. :)
  • Persona - April 21, 2010 1:11 p.m.

    Well, I guess it's time to buy a NES off Ebay alongside a few classics and well.. try find an analogue T.V to play it... darn I guess kids of this generation (including me) just missed out on when imagination played a vital role in games.
  • wrapdump - April 21, 2010 1:22 a.m.

    I think you mean for the Western player, not the US player.
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - April 20, 2010 11:07 p.m.

    Ha! I'm not even out of school yet and have played The Legend of Zelda 7 times through on Z-Quest. I think I'mma get this >:)
  • GR_HenryGilbert - April 20, 2010 10:36 p.m.

    Yeah, believe it or not this is getting a UK release the same week as the US. SouthPeak is publishing it 5/14. And the character creator isn't impossible, but most will probably ignore it.
  • V13Dragongal - April 20, 2010 9:13 p.m.

    i will buy this when i finally get a PS3. untill then i hope to hear more about all the inside jokes.
  • vadorsoul - April 20, 2010 9:10 p.m.

    There was no mention of the character creater in the review, how good is it? is it simple or complicatated? user freindly?
  • Conman93 - April 20, 2010 10:28 a.m.

    I have been keeping my eyes on this since the start, so I am going to play it for sure. I'm 16 so I probably won't get the full experience, but I'm such a Zelda fan that it hopefully won't matter. Why do I have the feeling this isn't going to do great commercialy :(
  • MaynardJ - April 20, 2010 8:46 a.m.

    Being a 29 year-old Zelda fan this should be a game for me, but I never played that many games on the NES. Could I get a list of games it references without spoiling these moments for me? The first Zelda was way too hard for me at the time (must have been 12 then) but I did finish it with Game Genie cheats. I wanted to play it properly on the Gamecube collection disc but the controls just wouldn't work. Anyway, too bad this is a PS3 exclusive as I'm not planning to buy one before the next generation comes around. Hell, I only got a PS2 2 years ago and just played Ico and Shadow of the Colossus. Getting Zelda for the GBA I recently bought will have to do for now if I really want to experience this again.
  • Oddeh7 - April 20, 2010 4:52 p.m.

    Is this getting a UK release? Cos I've only heard about this game on here. reCaptcha: buzzword said (this game is awesome)
  • philipshaw - April 20, 2010 1:17 p.m.

    I'm 19 but have read your site enough to get the in jokes and for the budget price, the game would be worth getting
  • vinicusg.t.guedes - April 20, 2010 noon

    Brings back childhood memories, too bad I still have to spend some cash in God of War and maybe Final Fantasy, but there's no doubt I'll buy this later this year. Fromsoftware has earned my respect over the past few months, when I found myself stuck in Demon's Souls more than I should have been and keeping playing it even after I got the platinum trophy.
  • TomMishkin - April 20, 2010 11:09 a.m.

    OK, let's see: I'm 27, first game I ever came in touch with was Colossal Cave thanks to my father, first console I got was an NES back when I was 7 or 8, first console game I ever played was Legend of Zelda (somehw the golden cartridge convinced me to try it first, even before the uberfamous Super Mario Bros), first sentence I ever read in a console videogame was «IT'S DANGEROUS TO GO ALONE! TAKE THIS.»... Guess I should consider buying a PS3 just to play the hell out of this game shouldn't I?
  • garnsr - April 20, 2010 3:27 a.m.

    I think the target age is more late twenties and older. Playing the originals when they were already classics won't give you quite the same type of nostalgia as we old-timers built up by playing everything, crap or not, on the NES, as it came out.
  • vadorsoul - April 20, 2010 2:21 a.m.

    @GRHenry thanks
  • RonnyLive19881 - April 20, 2010 12:11 a.m.

    Thought I would throw this out there, Parody: http://effinfunny.com/legend-of-neil http://files.fluctuat.net/images/cms_flu/6/1/1/2/42116/51966.jpg Rip off: http://bulk2.destructoid.com/ul/154185-link.jpg http://www.acquiremag.com/2010/03/11/psmove.jpg I'll be buying this day one(Hell it is Zelda), but I really do hope Nintendo sues the crap out of these guys Lol.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - April 19, 2010 11:49 p.m.

    @ Vadorsoul I'd say enjoying the GBC Zelda's is close enough. Have at it.

Showing 1-20 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000