Google+

3D Dot Game Heroes super review

Great
Back to Article

37 comments

  • JackSkellingtonsSkin - April 19, 2010 11:27 p.m.

    Excellent, score for this game seems to be a solid eight across the board so I don't think I can miss it.
  • 2dboy - April 19, 2010 11:06 p.m.

    I still remember the first time watching the Japanese trailer. :D The game is going to release in less than a month from now.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - April 19, 2010 10:59 p.m.

    @JackSkellingtonsSkin Well, since you loved Chrono Trigger, you should give this one a go, as you'll find nothing else like it on the PS3. @CH3BURASHKA I don't think you'll be completely left out, because it's still a really fun game, but having even a passing love for that era makes the game 1,000 times better.
  • garnsr - April 20, 2010 3:31 a.m.

    I'm 33, and I think the way I look at Atari games is different than someone who grew up really playing them, like Dan Amrich, for example. It's a little different being there, and going back to play the games you know you're supposed to. It's good to know your history, though, either way you do it.
  • Amnesiac - April 20, 2010 3:02 a.m.

    I'm 20, so I'd say I'm on the threshold of the target age for this game. Despite my age, I grew up with an NES controller in my hand and I have a lot of love for the classics. I have been in love with this game since I first read about it, and I can't wait to play it.
  • understudybass - April 20, 2010 2:31 a.m.

    I feel like Henry treated this review with a lot of respect. Don't ask me what that means...but he did. Nice job, man
  • n00b - April 20, 2010 1:24 a.m.

    im 19 but not growing up in the us ment you played video games a generation past. so while you guys were playing snes and getting introduced to n64 i was playing nes, lovin the snes (probably my favorite console) and getting my ass kicked at street fighter 2 in arcades so i will probably enjoy this game since im a big zelda freak. sadly no ps3 no!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! why didnt they make it for wii and xbox 360 too since its obviously aimed at nintendo heads and most nintendo heads probably moved on to 360. sigh.... nother reason to get a ps3
  • n00b - April 20, 2010 1:21 a.m.

    im 19 but not growing up in the us ment you played video games a generation past. so while you guys were playing snes and getting introduced to n64 i was playing nes, lovin the snes (probably my favorite console) and getting my ass kicked at street fighter 2 in arcades so i will probably enjoy this game since im a big zelda freak. sadly no ps3 no!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! why didnt they make it for wii and xbox 360 too since its obviously aimed at nintendo heads and most nintendo heads probably moved on to 360. sigh.... nother reason to get a ps3
  • Cyberninja - April 20, 2010 12:36 a.m.

    sounds like the kind of game to play after i am finshed with FF13
  • RonnyLive19881 - April 20, 2010 12:09 a.m.

    Thought I would throw this out there, Parody: http://effinfunny.com/legend-of-neil http://files.fluctuat.net/images/cms_flu/6/1/1/2/42116/51966.jpg Rip off: http://bulk2.destructoid.com/ul/154185-link.jpg http://www.acquiremag.com/2010/03/11/psmove.jpg I'll be buying this day one(Hell it is Zelda), but I really do hope Nintendo sues the crap out of these guys Lol.
  • vadorsoul - April 19, 2010 11:28 p.m.

    I was a HUGE fan of the gbc zelda games, Oracle of seasons, And oracle of ages. i playred and beat both of them too many times to count. do you think this game is right for me?
  • CH3BURASHKA - April 19, 2010 10:50 p.m.

    Sadly, I'm part of the 'younger gamer' demographic. It sucks to be left out...
  • crumbdunky - April 19, 2010 10:46 p.m.

    I'm desperate to play the English version of this ever since I played a couple of hours with my mate and his Japanese GF ealeir in the year-of the Japanese version with his nice GF(Suki)translating for me. I realise that a lot of it is Zelda orientated but it's not as hung up on the series, from what I've seen myself and been told by those who've played it all, as many US/UK sites have made out. Yes, there's a lot of Zelda love and homage but by the same yardstick there are jokes and design nods to both Metroid and C'vania in places among a host of leser known NES and 8bit titles. I think the Zelda comparison is so blatant it just hits you in the face and people haven't shown the other games in the 3D Dot melting pot anywhere near as much. But a budget release made with this much love-and I really liked what I played already-must make this at least a rental for anyone who loved the games it brings up or curious about what they missed. If you loved your NES period gaming I think it might well be worth a purchase and I've got it preordered. Nice to see it getting more review love in the west than it did back home though-very odd.
  • sleepy92ismypsn - April 19, 2010 10:46 p.m.

    oh i thought this game was supposed to be a retro littlebigplanet wher you can play create and share 8 bit levels. oh well im only 17 im not old enough to play this game.
  • JackSkellingtonsSkin - April 19, 2010 10:38 p.m.

    I'm 17 year old and have never played a Zelda. I loved Demon's Souls and the first time I beat Chrono Trigger was last week and I loved it. I had been planning on buying this game right up until you told me I'd need to be in on the joke. Will my rpg boner allow me to enjoy this game anyway?
  • WonsAuto - April 19, 2010 10:21 p.m.

    Great review, nice to see that this was deemed worthy of a Super. I only started gaming in the SNES era, so I'm a afraid some of the jokes may be lost on me. Either way, I've been looking forward to this since Atlus announced they were publishing it.
  • WonsAuto - April 19, 2010 10:19 p.m.

    Great review, nice to see that this game was found to be worthy of a Super. I only started gaming in the SNES era, so a lot of the jokes may be lost on me, but I've been looking forward to this since Atlus announced they were publishing it.

Showing 21-37 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 11 2010 - PS3 (US)
May 14 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Atlus
Developed by: From Software
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Mild Cartoon Violence
PEGI Rating:
7+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.